Loading your learning progress…

Learner's and driving-test fees: plan your budget

AT A GLANCE

Your quick answers.

YOUR LOCATION / QUICK FEE SUMMARY

My area fees

Choose a province and a named reference. Prices apply to that authority’s published scope; they are not a quote for every nearby centre.

City of Johannesburg

Johannesburg municipal references only. Johannesburg is the currently researched example, not a fee quote for Tshwane, Ekurhuleni or every Gauteng centre.

Learner test

Learner application / test
R108
Source and datesOfficial published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
Learner licence issue
R60
Source and datesOfficial published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.

Driving test

Motorcycle application (A / A1)
R192
Light-vehicle application (B)
R228
Heavy-vehicle application (C / EC1 / EC)
R240

Choose the fee for your vehicle category; these are alternatives, not amounts to add together.

Source and datesOfficial published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
Driving licence issue
R228
Source and datesOfficial published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.

Renewal and conditional fees

Driving licence card renewal
R228

A temporary licence is an additional transaction only if required. Confirm whether you need it; do not add it automatically.

Source and datesOfficial published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.

Alternative vehicle-code prices are not added together. Temporary licences are conditional, not part of every application or renewal. Sources may not state an effective date; confirm the current tariff before paying.

NINE PROVINCES / PUBLISHED REFERENCES

Compare fees for your location.

These are references published by the named authorities, not a guaranteed quote for every centre in a province. Confirm current charges with your DLTC. Review dates do not establish when a tariff took effect.

Swipe or scroll the tables sideways to compare all columns.

Learner application and issue

Learner application and issue: regional coverage and sources
ProvinceApplication / testIssue
Eastern CapeFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Free StateFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

GautengFind a centre
City of Johannesburg, Gauteng
Learner application / test
R108
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
City of Johannesburg, Gauteng
Learner licence issue
R60
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
KwaZulu-NatalFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

LimpopoFind a centre
Greater Giyani Municipality, Limpopo
Learner application / test
R159
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
Greater Giyani Municipality, Limpopo
Learner licence issue
R57
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
MpumalangaFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

North WestFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Northern CapeFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Western CapeFind a centre
Western Cape
Learner application / test
R68
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
Western Cape
Learner licence issue after passing
R33
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.

Practical-test application and issue

Practical-test application and issue: regional coverage and sources
ProvinceApplication by categoryIssue
Eastern CapeFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Free StateFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

GautengFind a centre
City of Johannesburg, Gauteng
Motorcycle application (A / A1)
R192
Light-vehicle application (B)
R228
Heavy-vehicle application (C / EC1 / EC)
R240

Choose the fee for your vehicle category; these are alternatives, not amounts to add together.

Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
City of Johannesburg, Gauteng
Driving licence issue
R228
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
KwaZulu-NatalFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

LimpopoFind a centre
Greater Giyani Municipality, Limpopo
Driving licence application: confirm your code
R216

The service page does not distinguish driving-test vehicle categories. Confirm the amount for your licence code before paying.

Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
Greater Giyani Municipality, Limpopo
Driving licence issue
R216
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
MpumalangaFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

North WestFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Northern CapeFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Western CapeFind a centre
Western Cape
Motorcycle or light-vehicle application
R135
Heavy-vehicle application
R200

Choose the application fee for your vehicle category; these are alternatives, not amounts to add together.

Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
Western Cape
Driving licence card issue after passing
R140
Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.

Card renewal and conditional temporary licence

Card renewal and conditional temporary licence: regional coverage and sources
ProvincePublished renewal references
Eastern CapeFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Free StateFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

GautengFind a centre
City of Johannesburg, Gauteng
Driving licence card renewal
R228

A temporary licence is an additional transaction only if required. Confirm whether you need it; do not add it automatically.

Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
KwaZulu-NatalFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

LimpopoFind a centre
Greater Giyani Municipality, Limpopo
Driving licence card renewal
R216
Temporary licence, only if required
R85

A temporary licence is an additional transaction only if required. Confirm whether you need it; do not add it automatically.

Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.
MpumalangaFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

North WestFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Northern CapeFind a centreConfirm with your centre

A current local fee has not yet been verified. Ask your chosen DLTC for the application, issue and any additional charges before paying.

Western CapeFind a centre
George Municipality, Western Cape
Driving licence card renewal
R140
Temporary licence, only if required
R45

The temporary-licence fee is additional only when that transaction is required. Do not treat it as part of every renewal.

Official published referenceReviewed 2026-10-19. Source publication date not stated. Fee effective date not stated.

What goes into the total?

National government service pages direct applicants to the local licensing office for current charges. A figure published by one province should not be presented as a guaranteed price everywhere.

  • Learner's licence: the application or test charge, then the issue charge if you pass.
  • Practical test: the booking or application charge for your category, followed by the licence issue charge.
  • Renewal: the card application charge and any temporary-licence charge that applies.
  • A repeat attempt, reschedule or missed appointment: ask whether another fee is required.

Leave room for the little extras

Make your own checklist for transport, time away from work, photographs, copies and any private optometrist visit. If you use a driving school, request a written quote showing lessons, vehicle hire and test-day transport separately. This makes it easier to compare offers without confusing training charges with government fees.

  • Confirm accepted payment methods. Do not assume every centre is cash-only or that every centre accepts cards.
  • Keep official receipts and your appointment reference together.
  • Roadbook's course price pays for learning access; it does not include a government test appointment or licence issue fee.
fee-confirmation checklist

These are government transaction references, not Roadbook course prices or a guaranteed total for your visit.

Sources & review

MyRoadbook

Your analytics choice

Analytics helps us improve the site. It doesn't send your name, email or answers to Google, and we don't use it for advertising.

Optional analytics stays off until you choose.

Privacy policy